Alembic pointcloud ID-s [SOLVED]

Hi! Im trying to put instances on alembic particle’s (in Blender) that I’ve exported from Embergen. The problem is that it seems, that I cant set the ID-s, so anything that I’d like to randomize such as scale or rotation (or pick instance from collection), changes all the instanstances on the point on every frame, which results a stuttering effect. Is there any solution to this? The only similar problem that I’ve found was this: Instancing objects on an alembic point cloud - #3 by Rowquino - Modeling - Blender Artists Community Unfortunately its from houdini, so the solution’s not works for me… :confused:

Nevermind, I guess I’ve found out all sides of the limitations. I’m just getting into geonodes, so selection of points seems a bit harcore math for me, the problem that for an alembic pointcloud its randomly changes the instance index on the points (if I dont select specific points for a specific instance) seems a blender limitation. The third is that when I selected the first point of the animation and traced it in the viewport while forwarding the timeline, I realized that after a while it starts jumping in the space randomly (maybe somewhere at the collision point). I guess its the gpu simulations limitation, but correct me if Im wrong. All in all, any suggestion is welcome from fellow users, or anyone who has a good idea, how to solve this… :slight_smile:

Hi there, Alembic Particle export has been a feature that was requested for a while and so we’re running into the same limitations of not knowing how other software want to treat these particles. I’ve provided the attribute names that alembic files tend to look for, but I wonder if the alembic particle ID gets reset once the lifetime passes.

Attribute names:
P (positions)
.pointIds
.velocities
.arbGeomParams contains
texture (colors)
density