Make embergen sparse

Houdini now has a sparse pyro solver. Simulation would be a lot more efficient by only simulateing areas around the volume.

We’re aware of this and it’s in our plans, though it’s not simple due to doing all of this on the GPU.

Hi. I’m not their developer but I have some experience with the topic so I thought I’ll thow in some thoughts that may help understanding why this isn’t there already. Depending on the implementation, this is not practical or even not possible due to how gpu simulation works.It may even slow down the simulation instead of speeding up, because of the processing needed.This is why you can’t operate on vdb straight. It operates on textures (all pixels) and not individual values one by one. This is what makes it possible to run in real-time, and this is what the gpu prefers in general. However, it is possible to skip pixels that are not needed to be processed. This would not make the data sparse, but it could speed up the simulation somewhat. But I’m pretty sure this is already added where it can be.